About the Central Land Council

The Central Land Council is a representative body governed by 90 Aboriginal people elected from communities in the southern half of the Northern Territory.

CLC Delgates 2019

CLC members elected a new leadership at Yulara Pulka in April 2019.

The CLC represents Aboriginal people in Central Australia and supports them to manage their land, make the most of the opportunities it offers and promote their rights.  

It emerged from the Aboriginal struggle for justice and land rights. 

In 1976 the Commonwealth's Aboriginal Land Rights Act (ALRA) gave Aboriginal people title to most of the Aboriginal reserve lands in the Northern Territory and the opportunity to claim other land not already owned, leased or being used.

The CLC divides its area covering almost 777,000 square kilometres into nine regions roughly based on 15 different language groups.

Today Aboriginal people make up a third of the NT's population, with more than 24,000 of them living in Central Australia.

Aboriginal people collectively own half of the land in the Northern Territory - more than 417,000 square kilometres in the CLC region alone.

The CLC is a Commonwealth corporate entity established under the ALRA and also has functions under the Native Title Act 1993 and the Pastoral Land Act 1992.

The CLC has a Code of Conduct and a PDF version can be downloaded here.


Central Land Council Workplace Health and Safety Committment Statement

Central Land Council Privacy Statement