Land Rights News Central Australia: Land Rights News (April 2010)

Published: April, 2010

CLC elections 2010

At an election held in Tennant Creek in April, the Council voted for the chair, deputy chair and executive positions.

The Council made history when it elected Gina Smith from Tennant Creek as deputy chair.

It’s the first time in the CLC’s 34 year history that a woman has been elected to the position.

Women are also better represented on the executive with four, including Smith, among the 11 members.

The election was conducted by the Australian Electoral Commission using the preferential system.

Five members of the Aboriginal Benefits Account were also elected: Mr Bookie, Harry Nelson, Phillip Wilyuka, Maurie Ryan and Conrad Ratara.

Council members were elected by communities during February and March this year and nearly 40 percent of the members are new.

Mr Bookie said he was extremely pleased to be re-elected and pleased to see so many younger faces on the new Council.
The CLC executive

Region 1 – Central, Conrad Ratara; Region 2 – South-west, Stephen Clyne; Region 3 – North-west, Maurie Ryan; Region 4 – Tanami, Dennis Williams; Region 5 – Western, Sid Anderson; Region 6 – Tennant Creek, Michael Jones; Region 7 – Eastern Sandover, Ngarla Kunoth-Monks; Region 8 – East Plenty, Shirley Dempsey; Region 9 – Anmatyere, Malcolm Ross.