

CENTRAL LAND COUNCIL

COUNCIL NEWS



Gwen Gillen, Rita Jingo, Jennifer Breadon and Kathleen Luckey from Region 2 introduce themselves to the new council.

CHAIR AND DEPUTY CHAIR RE-ELECTED

Central Land Council delegates re-elected Warren Williams as chair and Barbara Shaw as deputy chair.

These elections were overseen by an independent agency, the NT Electoral Commission.

In August last year, during a special council meeting, the previous council elected Mr Williams and Ms Shaw to these positions, and the new council voted to keep them in leadership roles.

Mr Williams, a retired assistant Yuendumu school principal, thanked the council for the faith they have placed in him for the second time.

"It's the delegates that put me in as the chair. They are doing a lot of work in our communities and they put their trust in me," he said. Mr Williams has twice been a CLC deputy chair, represents Warlpiri communities on the Central Desert Regional Council and chairs Yuendumu's Yapa Kurlangu Ngurrara Aboriginal Corporation.

He continues to help men overcome problems with domestic violence and to mediate community conflicts across the southern Tanami region.

The CLC's deputy chair since 2019, Ms Shaw works with the Tangentyere Family Safety Group that targets family violence in Alice Springs town camps.

She also chairs Aboriginal Investment Northern Territory.

"Our land councils and our rights are under attack again and I am ready to support our members and our chair in this fight," she said.



The executive committee meets between council meetings, generally seven or eight times a year.

NEW CLC EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

The council also elected a new executive committee.

The new CLC chair and deputy chair will be joined on the executive by Raymond Palmer (Region 1, Alice Springs region), Leroy Lester (Region 2, South West region), Geoffrey Matthews (Region 3, North West region), Valerie Martin (Region 4, Tanami region), Douglas Multa (Region 5, Western region), Bonald Brown (Region 6, Tennant Creek region), Graham Long (Region 7, Eastern Sandover region), Neville Petrick (Region 8, Eastern Plenty region) and Timothy Price (Region 9, Central region).

The council also chose an alternate member for each region (like a proxy). They will attend the first two executive committee meetings to learn about how the



Barbara Shaw and Warren Williams will continue to lead the new council.

Western region), Ronald Brown committee works.



Each region chooses a member to represent their region on the executive committee.

COUNCIL INDUCTION AND GOVERNANCE TRAINING DAY

The day before the election, Maggie Kavanagh led CLC delegates through governance training and induction to council. Forty-seven per cent of council members are newly elected members.

the land council. The members also engaged with the CLC's governance booklet, learning about their responsibilities as The session began with new delegates.

and returning delegates

introducing themselves and sharing their reasons for joining



Derek Williams and Maggie Kavanagh demonstrate how many 'hats' delegates may wear.



Jimmy Frank Jnr and Barbara Shaw will continue to represent the council on the Aboriginal Investment Northern Territory board.

ABORIGINAL INVESTMENT NORTHERN TERRITORY D MEMBERS E LEC



Minister Josh Burgoyne faces questions from the council on the proposed changes to the Sacred Sites Act.

COUNCIL DISAGREE WITH CHANGES TO SACRED SITES

Minister Josh Burgoyne spoke at the council about the NT government's proposed changes to the Sacred Sites Act.

The changes include a new option called 'enforceable undertakings'. This is a written agreement between Aboriginal Areas Protection Authority and a person or group that has damaged a sacred site. Another change allows developers to transfer authority certificates to one another.

Mr Burgoyne told delegates that traditional owners will decide whether there will be an 'enforceable undertaking' or a prosecution when a site is damaged. He also added that sacred site clearance certificates can only be transferred between developers if the new project is exactly the same as in the original one.

The proposed bill does not include these commitments.

"The Country Liberal Party's fast tracked amendments are designed to please land users and developers, but sideline us completely," chair Warren Williams said.

"We are outraged because our sacred sites mean the world to us, and it's our duty to protect them and not just take the government's word on trust.

"Our sites belong to us, not the government and it should not change the law protecting our sites without our informed consent."

The CLC is urging the government to scrap the bill. They want a new bill created with their input that would make the process easier by recognising land council sacred site clearance certificates. which traditional owners and developers often prefer because they provide certainty and lower costs.



CLC delegates elected Jimmy Frank and Barbara Shaw to represent them on the Aboriginal Investment board, both for a second term.

Eight out of the 12 members on the board are directly elected by the four NT land councils, and these eight land council representatives will appoint a further two board members.

The Australian government also appoints two board members.

Ms Shaw's and Mr Frank's elections, like the CLC chair and deputy chair election, were overseen by the NT Electoral Commission.

Patrick Collins and Justin Corby brushing up on governance training

EET

Executive: 18–19 June 2025, Alice Springs Council: 19–21 August 2025, Kalkaringi



The Council makes decisions in the best To read these rules and the council interests of Aboriginal people in our region and to keep the CLC strong. Its meeting rules support strong governance.

minutes at our Alice Springs office please contact our strategy and performance manager on 8951 6211.